bridalexpert

More Rudeness-East Coast style

In Uncategorized on March 28, 2009 at 9:34 pm

March 27, 7:45 PM, Closing Time….Almost

I’ve already turned off the lights and I’ve got my keys in hand, when the phone rings.  It never fails-someone always knows to call at the very last second possible, just when you’ve already shut your mind off for the day.  It’s like clockwork. I wish my lottery numbers were this reliable.

I drop my purse and run to the nearest phone to answer.  An irritable sounding woman with a heavy New York accent starts to speak before I’ve even finished my greeting.

“I’m looking for an Allure dress in Brides magazine. It’s the May/June 2009 issue, and I need a price on the dress.”

“Ok, and what’s the style number of the dre–?”

“There IS no style number in the magazine.” She adds “And DON’T tell me to go on their website!”

Hmmmm. Most designers don’t give you the style number of the dresses they advertise-they want you to go to their website so you can browse through the rest of the dresses until you find the one you’re looking for. Sounds like this woman already talked to another bridal shop, maybe several.

She continues. “I’m just going to describe it to you.”  She begins giving me a detailed description of the dress-the cut, the fabric, the way it doesn’t fit right on the model in the picture…while the whole time my mind is screaming “We have over 1,000 gowns in here-are you really going to expect me to know which one you’re looking at by your description?” I still can’t get over the fact that brides will actually call and expect us to know a dress just by describing it, completely oblivious to the hundreds of bridal gown designer and thousands of dresses currently out there. It must be nice living in their simple little world.

I let the woman finish so I don’t appear rude. “Well,” I start. “It doesn’t sound like a dress we have in our salo-”

“Well the magazine says you do!” She’s flat out yelling at this point.

“Ma’am, that’s an advertisement-they just list the salons that carry their line. It doesn’t mean that we have every single dress that they make.”

She lets out an annoyed sigh. “Are you by a computer?” she demanded.

“Yes.” I know what she’s going to ask next.

“Then go on their website and see if you can find the dress on there.”

I sigh. “Ma’am, they have over 500 dresses on their website. I can’t go through them one by one-”

“Just forget it!” I can already feel her voice fade away as the receiver moves from her mouth to the phone’s cradle.

SLAM! She hangs up.

I hold the phone in my hand, listening to the dial tone, already feeling my anger starting to build.

“Asshole BITCH!” I slam the phone into the cradle. My mind starts shooting off thoughts like electrical impulses, firing off in every direction, with more than one thought/comment/insult running through my mind at the same time.

Really? That’s how it is? This is how conversations take place in your world?  I can’t help you so you talk down to me like scum and hang up the phone when I’m proven useless in to you? So you behave like an ignorant moron? And what, you just had to do it on my way out too, huh? You couldn’t have called me in the morning, or in the afternoon-you just had to wait until the very last second, with my hand on the door to call me with your ignorant, rude, insolent behavior, just so you could purposely keep me angry the rest of the night, asking myself what happened to the civilized brides we used to have. The ones that had manners, and respect, and kindness, and would be horrified if they ever caught themselves acting the way you just did. And you, you probably don’t see anything wrong with your behavior. It’s completely normal to you, isn’t it?!?

I grab my purse, lock the doors, and stomp across the parking lot to my car, the last one left.  I don’t even hear the radio because I’m muttering to myself the entire way home, now thinking about all the other annoying phone calls, insults, or arguments that brides have brought up in the past.  Which is common when you’ve been in this business too long. One little thing that sets you off will bring up years of old memories of bickering brides you’ve worked with, some of which you haven’t thought of in years. But that’s all it takes.

I realize that I’m already in my driveway. My heart is beating furiously, like it usually does when someone gets me riled up. I try to force the bad thoughts out of my head, already trying to forget the conversation, the idiot on the phone, the way she acts like she knows more than I do…yeah, and the way she thinks she can behave any way she pleases…oh, and the way she kept yelling and demanding and…damn it! I’m doing it again!

Eh, maybe I’m just too sensitive.

  1. I’ve worked in women’s retail for over 12 years, and I can tell you that most people look down on you like you’re second rate. Bridezilla, it’s people like you who take the one bad experience she heard and assume that everyone is like that. It’s obvious that you’ve never worked in retail or you would understand. There are actually honest people out there, people that use their brains every now and then. And we’re deserve to be treated with respect just like everyone else.

    Great blog, keep up the good work.

  2. Oh and maybe we should talk about how bridal saloons. Like always a bridesmaid on staten island sells fake vera wang dresses. Then you wonder why no one trusts u people and talk to you like crap!!!

  3. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

Leave a Reply

