bridalexpert

Pardon My French

In Uncategorized on February 18, 2009 at 10:16 pm

But where are your manners? I know this past weekend was Valentine’s Day, but was it also You Are Nothing To Me But A Simple Servant day? Cause that’s the impression I got from the incredibly dimwitted and spaced-out customers that I worked with.

The one that really pissed me off was a bride that was interested in a $6000 designer gown. We had the gown transferred directly from the designer since we didn’t have a sample of that dress in our salon. Of course, I mention the price to the bride before we do anything. “This dress is in the $6000 range-is that within your budget?”

“Yes, that’s fine.”

Ok then. So the dress is shipped to us overnight and the bride comes in with her mom and her bridesmaids. She tries it on while everyone “Oooh’s” and “Aaaah’s” over her. Everyone loves it, including the bride. But when I ask her if that’s THE dress, they all burst out in silultaneous laughter. Ok… Then the bride tells me she wants to try on some other dresses now. So while I’m pulling more dresses, the manager goes over and talks to the mom, who happens to mention that her budget is… $1500.

$1500. One thousand and five hundred dollars.

Soooooo, not only did we have to pay $100 to borrow the dress and pay for overnight shipping both ways, but I just spent the last hour with you so you could play dress up in a gown 4 times out of your price range? Ok moron, did you happen to use your brain for one split second and consider that other people are wasting their time for you? That they’re lending out their expensive dresses to someone who’s playing dress up when there are serious brides out there who aren’t purposely wasting our time? No, apparently not.

Well after questioning my bride about her decrease in budget, she simply responded “I changed my mind.”  Whatever.

So I managed to find another dress for her, which they all fell in love with immediately.  But she wanted to show her dad first.  So we set up an appointment for the following Sunday (normally my day off) at 1:00 PM. I mention to her that it’s my day off, but that I would be happy to come in especially for her (remember, I’m her servant.)

Sunday, 2:00 PM. No sign of the bride.  I call her. She answers and  says her mom got lost and they’ll be in within the half hour. So I wait.

3:00 PM. Still a no show.  I call her and go directly to her voicemail.

4:00….4:30…..5:00-closing time.  I just spent the last 3 hours waiting for a phone call, on a day when I shouldn’t have been working to begin with.

You think she would have at least called to say “I can’t make it” or “I need to reschedule” or “I’m a huge asshole, don’t bother waiting for me?”

Nope, not even a courtesy call with some lame excuse.

So now I’ve been working 10 straight days without  a day off. Fine. It happens.  But I’m gonna think twice about giving up any more days off, I don’t care how nice or sincere or serious the next bride appears to be. Sorry, but it only takes one stupid bitch to ruin it for the rest. And this is the one that did it for me.

  1. This website is horrible i can not believe they way store owners talk about brides on this website. Its a shame and unprofessional this web site is being that brides are what keep your business running. I am a nurse try that job and you will think brides are a piece of cake. Try being positive we all need to work!!

Leave a Reply

