bridalexpert

Speak No Evil

In Uncategorized on December 29, 2008 at 9:51 pm

So I’ve come to realize that no matter how careful you are, brides will always take what you say the wrong way.  Today I received a call from a pissed off bride who was yelling about how I apparently told one of her bridesmaids that she’s fat and should lose some weight.  Umm….I’m pretty sure I didn’t say that, but then again, anything sounds plausible in the mind of a bride.  So after a few seconds I knew which group she was talking about. It turns out the bridesmaid was ordering a dress and wanted to order a smaller size than what she measured for because she was planning on losing weight for the wedding. Now what I told her was “Wait until the dress comes in.  If it fits, then you don’t have to go on a special diet.  If you think it still feels tight, then worst case scenario is that you’ll have to lose a couple of pounds, which you have plenty of time to do.” I thought what I said sounded fine, and the bridesmaid agreed with me at the time.  So why the hell did she complain to the bride the next day? She was the one who mentioned going on a diet, not me.  And I only gave her advice because she asked me for it. And by the way, where in this conversation did she hear me call her fat?!?

So I explained everything to the bride, who seemed to calm down. Then she brought up another complaint.  This time she wanted to know why I recommended that one of her bridesmaids order a size 18 dress, when the bridesmaid normally wears a size 12 (allegedly.) Ok, so when we determine sizes that a bride or bridesmaid should order, we first take their measurements, and then compare them to the size chart of whatever designer they’re ordering from. So if someone was ordering a dress from Alfred Angelo, I would take their measurements and then show Alfred Angelo’s size chart to the customer.  This is done for two reasons.  First, to see what size she should order.  If her measurements are placing her between two sizes, we would recommend the larger size to play it safe, since it needs to be altered regardless.  The second reason is because a lot of girls order smaller than what we recommended and then accuse us of not telling them to order larger when the dress comes in and doesn’t fit. And not just that, but we also make each customer sign off that they were shown the size chart for their designer, and that they understand why we recommended the size we did.  By the time a customer orders anything from us, we’ve made her sign her name about 5 times.  Three of those times are just to acknowledge the size she’s choosing.  The smallest details are written on their receipts, so the customers can’t claim ignorance about something.  We highlight so many areas on our receipt that it looks like a bus full of 2nd graders got a hold of  some highlighters and went to town on our receipts-that’s how anal we are about making sure that the customers are aware of EVERYTHING.

So back to the story, after the bride finishes lecturing me on my measuring skills, I tell her that the bride’s waist measurement is much larger than her bust and hip measurements; therefore, we recommended a size based on that.  I also told the bride that the size the bridesmaid did order was going to be about 4 inches too small when it comes in. Finally, I mentioned that the bridesmaid ordered the same size as our sample dress..a dress that she couldn’t even zip up all the way.

“If she wants to risk ordering a smaller size, that’s her choice,” I tell the bride. ” We just recommend a size to her, but she’s the one who has to wear the dress.  We just want her to look good on your wedding day.”

Now the bride sounds a little worried. Like maybe her stubborn bridesmaid didn’t make such a wise choice after all. The bride now asks the basic questions that always follow scenarios like this one. What happens if the dress is too small?  What if she doesn’t lose enough weight? What if she gains weight? I answer with the standard responses.  “It’s a risk she’s choosing to take. We can’t force her into a size-it’s all her choice.”

The bride thanks me, and I know her bridesmaid is going to be getting a call very soon.  It just bugs me that we explained all of this to the bridesmaids, who acknowledged that we discussed everything, but then they still go running to the bride with complaints? Complaints that are insanely inaccurate? I wonder what would happen if I just walked into where they work and complained to their bosses about false comments that they said to me…maybe that’s what I should do.  Just randomly show up at their work one day and go on a rant about how they called me ugly and told me to wear a burlap sack whenever I leave my house. Sounds like a plan to me.

  1. Customers always want to hear what they want and they will ALWAYS think they know more than you. Very frustrating!

    Funny stuff-keep up the good work!

  2. Nice! They never think about it from our side, but they should!!

  3. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

